PDA

View Full Version : Austral-Irish long case clock

Woodwould
17th June 2008, 06:51 PM
I've been gluing wood together for about forty years since I was a teenager in Ireland. I married an Aussie and to commemorate the event, I built a period style long case clock but I went totally berserk with the finish.

Proportionately, the case is a precise copy of a late Georgian mahogany square dial clock that I had previously restored and made exact drawings of. The carcass is of pine and the veneer is sycamore (not maple as has been suggested) and harewood (named after some veneered furniture at Harewood House in West Yorkshire). Harewood is itself just green-dyed sycamore. The trimmings on the clock are of solid sycamore.

The base of the case contains a square panel of diaper work. The trunk incorporates boomerang motifs (representing my Aussie bride) in the four corners and the door again is made up around a diaper work panel. The mouldings are also veneered and include marquetry harewood shamrocks (representing my Irish origins).

The hood is dominated by solid sycamore mouldings which appear to be supported on turned sycamore pillars with aged, cast brass capitols and plinths. The dial was made by an old friend from solid brass (as was the original Georgian clock) which also features silvered brass boomerang spandrels in the corners and the centre is of engraved diaper work. The silvered chapter ring bears engraved Arabic numerals and more shamrocks. The blued steel hands incorporate yet more shamrocks.

Brass mouldings frame hand-dyed silk covers over the sound holes in the sides of the hood. The movement is by Kieninger.

Apologies for the quality of the images; they're scans of old photos I came across in a drawer. The colour of the clock case is more even than the pictures suggest... it's a fairly even cream colour throughout.

http://i303.photobucket.com/albums/nn135/I-Got-Wood/Furniture/long_case_clock_04b.jpg