PDA

View Full Version : Blackbean and Huon Pine

Chipman
26th June 2008, 09:58 PM
Here is a lidded bowl made from Blackbean and a Huon Pine lid and Blackbean handle. As I am relatively new to this type of turning any advice or constructive criticism is very welcome

http://www.woodworkforums.com.au/attachment.php?attachmentid=76327&d=1214477915

http://www.woodworkforums.com.au/attachment.php?attachmentid=76328&d=1214477915

The finish is wipe on polyurethane and wax

Chipman:)

funkychicken
26th June 2008, 10:21 PM
Just a Q...Did you wear breathing protection when turning that blackbean? Cause it's pretty noxious stuff

Oh and Nice bowl:2tsup:

Chipman
26th June 2008, 10:50 PM
Just a Q...Did you wear breathing protection when turning that blackbean? Cause it's pretty noxious stuff

Oh and Nice bowl:2tsup:

Well I did wear a good quality dusk mask... I have heard this and the few times I have used it (mainly flat work) I always wear the mask.

Actually the worst wood I have ever used is african cherry or Makore. It makes your eyes water and even with a dusk mask, it burns up the nose.

Thanks,

powderpost
26th June 2008, 10:56 PM
Nice bowl. Black bean makes me sneeze a lot. I wear a powered face shield now.
Jim

wheelinround
27th June 2008, 12:11 PM
Like it a lot great contrast Chipman

DJ’s Timber
27th June 2008, 12:13 PM
I like it, looks great :2tsup:

Harry72
27th June 2008, 01:16 PM
:whs:

artme
27th June 2008, 07:28 PM
Good one!!:2tsup::2tsup::2tsup:

Chipman
27th June 2008, 08:42 PM
Thanks for all the kind words everyone.... but don't forget if I am to improve, I will need some criticisms too (could be a bit scary but it needs to be done)

This was the third lidded bowl/box (Thanks ARTME)