PDA

View Full Version : How to use the cut off tool

3 cav 84a
20th July 2008, 01:36 PM
G'day, I just started playing around with a chuck today and was doing some practice on some timber I intend to make a salt mill out of. It was the first time I have used the parting off tool. It got very hot really quickly and even burnt the tip of the tool. The lathe was going at about half maximum speed. I haven't used this particular too before, it is a generic HSS type not one of the expensive brands and the timber is either old dry peach or apricot, any suggestions, regards Neil

orraloon
20th July 2008, 02:21 PM
Neil,
Hard to say as I don't know how you are using the tool. The trick is to make the cut a bit wider than the tool and this prevents the wood gripping the sides of the tool. You will only then get friction on the cutting edge. They can still get hot so do the parting off with a series of short cuts rather than one mighty thrust for the center. Allow the tip to cool a bit.
There is also a tendency to present the edge lake a scraper and this will generate more heat as well as dull the edge sooner. The parting tool is a chisel so rub the bevel same as with the gouge and skew.
Regards
John

NeilS
20th July 2008, 02:33 PM
Hi Neil

On deep cuts most of us run a second 'trench' next to the initial cut, about half the width of the first cut, and alternate between the two to give the parting tool some side clearance to avoid friction and heat build up. Diamond profile parting tools reduce the need for this.

Dense seasoned fruit woods will generate more heat than loose grain softwoods. Perhaps practice on some scrap pine to get a feel for the tool. The finish on pine will not be as clean as on the fruit woods but will preserve your valuable wood and your tool until you are up to speed on your parting technique.

And, as with all turning tools, the cutting edge needs to be kept sharp.

Hope that helps

Neil

3 cav 84a
20th July 2008, 02:42 PM