PDA

View Full Version : dust mask

ficfac
10th August 2008, 10:42 PM
What's the general opinion about the 'Dust Bee Gone' nuisance dust mask? I currently use a twin filter respirator, but these material ones look a lot more comfy. Are they worth the money? (about $40-$60). Cheers!:?

mpax356
11th August 2008, 08:35 AM
I have been using one for a couple of years. Does a fair job keeping the bulk of the dust out of the lungs. Much more comfortable than a respirator which does not fit under my face mask. I think an 80% solution used all of the time is probably better than a 99% solution that is seldom used. Lately I have been using some cheap surgical masks that loop over the ears. Not sure how much they filter but sure are easier to get on an off when wearing glasses. I have to take my glasses off before I put on or take off my Dust B Gone or they get all tangled.

rsser
11th August 2008, 04:57 PM
If you have face fungus, then I'm afraid you need either a tight fitting rubber mask with cartridges with vaseline smeared over your beard, or else a filtered visor.

If not, the DBG has had favorable comments from turners but for their life they seem exxy to me.

Shutterbug
11th August 2008, 05:56 PM
Hey guys. I've been using a Drager Picolla FFP2V dust mask for a few years now and am very happy with it. It's made out of a 'felt like' material and is very comfortable on.
What's more, they cost about $4 each.

AndyCJ
12th August 2008, 09:47 AM
Shutterbug - I really like the look of those Drager masks - where do you get them from thou? I've only found online sources that charge $145+gst for a pack of 15! That's $10 each. Also - how long do they last? Have you been using the same one for a few years??
Cheers,
Andy

Shutterbug
12th August 2008, 10:09 AM
Andy - I bought five 10 weeks ago for $3.59 + gst ea. from an Auto accessories and paint supplier called CARPLUS here in Sydney 1408 - 1410 Pittwater Road North Narrabeen 2101 Ph: 02 9913 3511