PDA

View Full Version : NAF - Flute Makers

Jiminidaho
25th August 2008, 02:22 PM
Where the heck are you?

Im a beginner flute maker.. Anyone out there wanna get this forum going?

jim

bitingmidge
25th August 2008, 04:49 PM
you just did!

P
:D:D:D

SpiritFlutes
25th August 2008, 06:58 PM
Hi Jim,

I make flutes for a living in Australia. Do you want to learn more about flute making? Where are you at now with the craft? Have you completed any projects? How did they go? Do you have any books or DVD's on the subject, if not you might like to check out whats available at the Oregon Flute Store www.oregonflutestore.com (http://www.oregonflutestore.com) and or just search the internet on that subject. If you are serious about becoming a maker for a career well then consider apprenticing to a accomplished maker. You'll have to sniff the right one out though, some can be funny or just down right paranoid about showing or teaching others things that have taken them years to learn. I think that stinks, I think these things should be learned in an apprentice fashion where there is an equal energy exchange and commitment. For an instrument that nearly became extinct around 30 years ago before a renaisance movement began such selfishness is against the preservation of the instrument and is usually about ego and money.