PDA

View Full Version : Work Experience in Japan

fizix
29th August 2008, 06:59 PM
Hi Guys,

I am a Civil Engineer by trade, looking to take a break and try my hand at something new.

Having always been fascinated by Japanese wood work and had the idea of moving to Japan for 1 - 2 years to learn the trade on-site.

I was thinking about Japanese woodwork strictly from a residential building point of view, (the way the Japanese tie wood into the structure of their houses is amazing) the real issue is where to start.

Do you guys have any tips as to where I might start researching on if this is even possible?

Having just turned 27, I am still quite young and fit and I am very good with my hands but I have no qualifications in the area (like an apprenticeship), also my Japanese is very basic.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers

ian
29th August 2008, 09:01 PM
First stop should be the Japanese consulate / embassy / web site of same

what are the visa requirements for doing what you want to do?

have you considered working on temple reconstruction?
Because it's "cultural" it may be a way around otherwise restrictive employment requirements

ian

fizix
29th August 2008, 09:21 PM
Thanks for the information Ian, i'd definitely be interested in temple restoration, even working as a volunteer if need be...

As for the visa, from what I can gather I should be able to obtain a working visa without too much of a fuss, it seems it's more finding contacts within the Japan to get information on the opportunities available.

NeilS
30th August 2008, 11:53 AM
Thanks for the information Ian, i'd definitely be interested in temple restoration, even working as a volunteer if need be...

Hi Fizix - there is Japanese temple builder who sells traditional woodworking tools on eBay. You say your Japanese is basic and I'm not sure about his English (I have had many 'interesting' email exhanges with him), but he could at least be a good starting point. Here is a reference: