PDA

View Full Version : How Do You Sharpen Your Tools?

silentC
19th March 2004, 09:02 AM
The whole topic of sharpening has my head spinning. Awhile ago, everybody was talking about Scary Sharp but lately waterstones have been the trend. Diamond stones are also popular but I find them too expensive for my budget.

I use oilstones for my chisels and Scary Sharp for plane irons but I have a waterstone on the way to try it out and see what all the fuss is about.

So what method do you use?

Wongo
19th March 2004, 09:27 AM
silentC

I have an oilstone and a diamond plate. I find the diamond plate very good because it is very durable and it stays flat the whole time but it is quite expensive.

Cheers

Scott

Barry_White
19th March 2004, 10:25 AM
I have been using a six inch grinder and an ordinary old oil stone since I was an apprentice patternmaker 50 years ago and it has always done it ok for me.

In fact I have been using the greenstone on the grinder (normally used for carbide drill bits) because I took the other one off to put a wire brush on and haven't bothered to put it back yet.

As a patternmaker I used to do a lot of end grain paring and always found the chisels & gouges sharp eneough to cut end grain without to much trouble.

Besides I found if you didn't cut yourself at least once a day you had done something wrong, so if they were too sharp they would cut too deep and heavens forbid if it was too deep you would have to go off on compo and did that upset the boss no end.

I find by using a six inch grinder it gives you a reasonable hollow which means you can get more touchups on the the ordinary old oil stone before you have to regrind the chisel, gouge or plane blade.

Not to put anyone down I just think everyone is making too much of getting an edge and I reckon if a chisel is sharp eneough to sharpen my pencil it is sharp eneough to use.

Rocker
19th March 2004, 11:58 AM
Darren,