PDA

View Full Version : Triton: A Gift or A Disease?

Zero
6th April 2004, 08:08 PM
I am an amateur woodworker,as a youngster, I love all kind of new gadget and machineary. I always love powertools and
i own triton products.
However, recently, I have an idea that woodworking should be a handcraft. Nowadays, most of us(I assume, correct me if I am wrong) use power tools.
Are we being too dependent on power tools? Triton is a typical brand producing woodworking machineary, they are making wookworking easier, faster. Yet, Does this trend change the original fun meaning of hobby woodworking?

Kris.Parker1
6th August 2004, 12:10 AM
Love the Triton mate. I have always used power tools, in todays age what with an uncertain future and all, the quicker I get a project done the better. Plus it keeps the missus of my back by using power tools.

Cheers

Kris

P.S. It also allows more time to go fishing!

Gumby
6th August 2004, 12:27 AM
Follow that theory and you'll be walking to work :D

Sturdee
6th August 2004, 07:48 PM
However, recently, I have an idea that woodworking should be a handcraft. Nowadays, most of us(I assume, correct me if I am wrong) use power tools.

Are we being too dependent on power tools? faster. Yet, Does this trend change the original fun meaning of hobby woodworking?

Zero,

Some people enjoy using power tools others enjoy hand tools. Some people enjoy the journey and for others the end result is what matters most. Again some enjoy the making handmade dovetails others enjoy the use of a nailgun instead.

There are often discussions on this Board if one is better than the other. Personally I use power tools if possible but I also use hand tools where appropriate so I don't think one is better than the other. It is a matter of personal preference.

As long as you get enjoyment from your woodworking and have fun it does not matter whether you use power tools or not.

Peter.