PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a lathe

aak
21st November 2008, 05:35 PM
Hi All,

I am new to woodturning. The festive seasons are nearly here and my wife asked what I would like for a present. I was thinking of getting a Vicmarc. The VL100 without the motor. However, I have some issues. Here are my thoughts:

- I want a small lathe as I am not sure how far I will take this,
- I want to start out with a few simple things I can use like tool handles that I am always short of and MDF cirles for sharmening/honing and some items as presents for friends and relatrives,
- hence I thought a small lathe would do and the smaller the items I make the more accurate the lathe would need to be,
- light construction is unlikely to have the quality/workmanship, after all generally we get what we pay for. This is not to say that if something is not expensive it is rubbish.
- my inexperience in wood turning and turning tools suggest that I should not try to save money until I have some experience to know what to look for,
- hence it would be safer to buy a new, quality lathe rather than second hand unit. I never sold any tools I bought, so resale value is not a consideration,
- and finally I hate to spend a lot of money on any individual item. My bandsaw, a new Scheppach, cost over $3000 ten years or so ago. I felt like they were pulling my teeth. Fantastic unit, could not reccommend it highly enough. I knew what I was buying though. However, I like to buy second hand tools and fix them myself if I can.
- Chinese lathes may or may not be good enough quality,
- not much on ebay or on the net.

Now if my thought are way off the track, please correct me or please add anything else I should consider.