PDA

View Full Version : Sorry Sturdee

ozwinner
25th April 2004, 02:56 PM
Hi
Sorry Sturdee, but I got too and made a training wheel for my BIG belt sander today.
I helps stop dig in, which I'm sure you have all had happen with belt sanders.
Only tryed it a couple of times, but it works ok.

Cheers, Mini Sturdee :D

Sturdee
25th April 2004, 04:48 PM
Allan, congratulations and welcome to the world of jig builders.:D

I am glad you followed up on the " training wheel " brain storming session idea and that it works okay. But please, if you want to be known as "Mini Sturdee", than paint it orange.

So what is your next jig ?

Peter the original Sturdee :D

ozwinner
25th April 2004, 04:54 PM
Is it contaigous, jig building I mean? :D

I used to be a jig builder in a former life, I used to work in the metal industry and used to make jigs for the welding robot, that robot was so lazy............:rolleyes:

Cheers, Mini

Sturdee
25th April 2004, 05:10 PM
Originally posted by ozwinner
Is it contaigous, jig building I mean? :D

Yes it is, if you are not carefull you will look at things and say I can build it better. When that happens you're hooked.

Peter.

morry
26th April 2004, 05:20 PM
Being a tight fisted so and so I would look at tools and jigs and think I could build it for a quater of the cost. So added the metal lathe,welder,vertical mill,taps and dies,rotary table etc etc.
It is a great feeling though when they work well and last a great deal longer because annoying plastic bits dont break off.

ozwinner
26th April 2004, 05:31 PM
Originally posted by Sturdee

So what is your next jig ?

Peter the original Sturdee :D

I am part way through building the drum sander, I decided to go with the timber drum after being quoted $150 for one steel drum.
I expect it will cost all up about the price of one steel drum, as I already have a motor.

Cheers, Al

Sturdee
26th April 2004, 06:34 PM