PDA

View Full Version : WIP Wool Truck

LiliB
31st December 2008, 02:55 PM
Hi Everyone
For those who are interested, I have begun the work in progress for David's wool truck.

The picture of a Riverina home made wool transport ute was the inspiration, and since there are no plans, David has had to use photos, and his imagination for many of the elements on this project.

It began life as a model T ute, but we have since found out it is a 1926-7 Chevrolet 4, so ours is a Chev/Ford conglomeration. Apologies to the purists for any incorrect detail.

Stage 1.

David made four wheels, and turned spacers for the axels and also made the blocks to hold the axel to the chassis. On his little lathe, he turned 4 hubs for the wheels and moulded the nuts on the end on the bench grinder.

Details of how he made his wheels are on an earlier post.

I'm still learning the limitations of the posting process here, and will post the next stages shortly.

Cheers
LiliB

LiliB
31st December 2008, 03:06 PM
Stage 2 - the Cabin and Engine

David created the cabin, with an oval rear window scrolled out. He cut the seats from a couple of red gum scraps and glued them in. He scrolled the steering wheel, dash cluster, and turned two pedals as well as the gear stick. The engine block was made next. Using the scroll saw he made the radiator surround, found a suitable piece of mesh for the radiator grille. Of course it had to have a radiator cap, so he made on on the lathe.

The lines on the engine block and the seats were made with a Dremel.

Cheers
LiliB
:U:U:U

DJ’s Timber
31st December 2008, 03:24 PM
Coming along nicely :2tsup:

What are the approximate dimensions? Maybe include an AA battery or similar in the shots so that we can see how small or big each object is.

mick59wests
31st December 2008, 03:52 PM
looking great!!!:2tsup:

Mick

LiliB
31st December 2008, 04:13 PM
Hi DJ