PDA

View Full Version : Introduction, first post and a request

roundnround
18th February 2009, 02:08 PM
New to this forum. I have been lurking for a few months now, and decided to introduce myself. I am from the United States., and I have been turning for 3 years, but still consider myself a beginer. I do some bowls and vessels, and some segmented turning. I discovered pens about 6 months ago. I never thought I would enjoy pens all that much, but I was wrong. So this brings me to the request. I hate to make my first post a plea for help, but I don't know where else to get this information. I am trying to make some pens and small boxes for some friends, but I want a specific species of wood that I believe is grown only in Australia. The species is Melaleuca Alternafolia. I know there are many species of Melaleuca trees, and that they are members of the eucalyptus family, but the Alternafolia species is of great importance to my friends. I don't think they are usually harvested for timber, and possibly the wood is normally considered trash. I have found a U.S. supplier for a different species (Melaleuca leucadendron) but I don't know how similar if at all this species is to what I am looking for. I have noticed a few turners here have turned items from Melaleuca trees, but no species is listed. Is there anyone here who can help me with information about the wood, it's turning properties, or possibly a link to a U.S. supplier? I need only a small amount, so if necessary I can get it from an Australian supplier. It would be best kiln dried, but if it is green, I may be able to dry it in time.

Thank you all for your help, and indulging me in my request. :)

Roundnround

Gil Jones
18th February 2009, 03:56 PM
I believe it is a Tea Tree.
http://www.woodworkerssource.com/tea_tree.html

Welcome aboard the forum. Where are you located in the USA?

robutacion
18th February 2009, 04:33 PM
Hi roudnround,