PDA

View Full Version : First Segmented Turning

Michael Brazeau
24th February 2009, 12:31 PM
I have been lurking on this forum for a while and thought I would share my first segmented work. In fact, this is my fourth lathe project since buying the lathe. This bowl took about 20 hours to make, but I think I could do it in about 12 hours if I were to make another like this.

The bowl is about 10" wide, 6.5" high and composed of 109 segments.

I did alot of research before starting this project. I have a couple of good books on segmented turning, one being Ray Allen's book and the other Malcolm Tidbitt's book. Both are excellent books to learn segmented turning.

Any comments/criticism welcomed.

Ed Reiss
24th February 2009, 01:01 PM
Welcome Michael:2tsup:

Nice looking bowl...seems you have a knack for segmenting.

The only comment I have is that our Aussie friends, for some reason that escapes me, like to use metric measurements (I'm still learning):roll:

poulso
24th February 2009, 01:05 PM
G'day Michael
Welcome to the forum
Nice bowl .Well done:2tsup:

artme
24th February 2009, 06:25 PM
G'day Michael and goodonya for joing the fun!:2tsup::2tsup::2tsup::2tsup:

Fabulous bowl!:2tsup::2tsup::2tsup:

powderpost
24th February 2009, 10:18 PM
Nice bowl Michael, well done.
Jim

ElizaLeahy
25th February 2009, 09:36 AM
Beautiful bowl - and this is only the 4th thing you have ever turned????

Seriously envy here!

Jim Carroll
25th February 2009, 12:27 PM
Welcome Michael:2tsup:

Nice looking bowl...seems you have a knack for segmenting.

The only comment I have is that our Aussie friends, for some reason that escapes me, like to use metric measurements (I'm still learning):roll:

Dont worry about imperial or metric as long as there is an indication of size is all that matters, most rulers have both.

Not a bad bowl for your 4th go.

joe greiner
25th February 2009, 11:05 PM
Excellent, Michael.:2tsup: