PDA

View Full Version : Will it do what I want it to?

Nihilist37
8th March 2009, 11:37 AM
Well first up, New poster but long time lurker. Ive been working wood for most of my 25 year life and in the last 2 years have decided to really get serious about it.

I have been slowly upgrading all of my equipment and filling in the blanks and its now the lathes turn.

I am mostly interested in instrument building with the idea of perhaps selling some in the near future. Currently I'm building Banjo's with a block rim rather than a bent rim.

So my questions are thus -

I have this old lathe which I have been using for MANY years. You can see it in the pic.

I have been having increasing concerns about it as it feels like it vibrates a little too much for making high quality rims. It has a motor that hangs on a hinge behind the bed and has gravity tension on the belt. Is it possible that it may just need new bearings and a bit of a service to get it running smooth again? I have no idea of the brand or quality etc. and don't know whether I should just service it and spend the money on something else.

I would like to build a dual compund slide system like this http://www.hicklerbanjo.com/page/page/5201024.htm (http://www.hicklerbanjo.com/page/page/5201024.htm)
so that I can accurately face the inside and outside of the rim. I have been building rims with 11" diameter but have recently started to make a few 12" rims and would like to put a decent chuck on there with Cole jaws to finish the rims. (meaning the lathe needs to have a 14" swing.)

I have been looking at several of the MC1100 lathes and have just a few questions about them.

Will it be an improvement from the system I already have?
Can I modify it to use the dual compound slide idea?
Will it do what I want it to?
There is huge variance in the price about the regular channels. Which is the best option with regards to price, features, individual companies variance etc?