PDA

View Full Version : Rosewood Dangers?

M-R
4th June 2004, 11:43 AM
Hi Guys,

I picked up a piece of NSW rosewood yesterday. A nice blank for turning, good price, well seasoned etc.

I started roughing it on the lathe about 20 minutes ago. I have never worked with rosewood before. Immediately I noticed super fine dust coming off it, and as it was coming off fast enough to sting my knuckles (first time for that).

I was wearing a face mask, and also had a 4" hose to the DC in front of the piece to syphon off any extra dust. The phone rang and I went inside to grab it, and as i was talking I decided to blow my nose. Super fine red dust all over the tissue.

5 minutes after that I am feeling headachey and very very congested in the sinuses.

I am going right now to carbatec to upgrade my 4" hose to some proper dust collecting stuff for the lathe, in the hopes that this will help.

But my question is... how dangerous is rosewood? I haven't seen NSW rosewood on the badwoods list. All that is listed there is "rosewood South East Asia, New Guinea Dermatitis, asthma "

Eastie
4th June 2004, 12:24 PM
None of my references specify (nsw) Rosewood, but generally categorise it. The main reason is that not all of our timbers have been tested - and in general we expect similar results will be found if they were tested.

As you would have seen Rosewood in general is categorized as an irritant and sensitiser, with main impact sites being the eyes, skin and respiratory system. In comparison (of literature) it has proven to be more potent than blackwood which is fairly renowned for the problems it causes.

A couple of other things to look at include (given you are using a decent mask):

To start with what sort of mask are you using (brand/type) and what is it’s size?