PDA

View Full Version : Bowl Scraper Question

Little Festo
10th June 2004, 12:21 PM
I have a nice heavy bowl scraper. The scraping edge only allows for scraping the inside of the bowl. I was going to put another scraping edge on the opposite edge to allow me to scrape the outside of the bowl as well. Is there any reason why I shouldn't do this? I can't see why I shouldn't. I'm new to turning so I might be missing something regarding doing this. Any advice??

Peter

Cliff Rogers
10th June 2004, 01:33 PM
G'day.

I'm confused... :confused:

What sort of a scraper is it, IE what shape?

What opposite edge?

The one below it or the one on the right side?

Little Festo
10th June 2004, 03:37 PM
I whipped up a rough image to illustrate what I meant. The Bowl Scraper has an edge as well as the end that can be used for scraping. Using the edge/side works well for the inside of bowls and I thought that it would be good for the outside of some pieces as well. The problem is that you would need to use the opposite side of the scraper wich in this case hasn't a scraping edge. I suppose I could just use the gouges as I am at present but I thought that this could be usefull for some pieces.

The scraper is a Raffern scraper by Henry Taylor (I thinK).[B]

The "Busted Bowl" hasn't led me to thinking about this as the finnishing cut that caused the catch couldn't have been carried out with a scraper anyway. For that I definatly chose the wrong tool.

Peter

Christopha
10th June 2004, 04:38 PM
Your bowls must be of quite small diameter and quite deep for that diameter to need a scaper much at all and why would you want to scrape the outside of a bowl at all? :confused:

rsser
10th June 2004, 05:12 PM
Yeah, you can (I've done it on a cheap scraper) as it also allows you to undercut on a stem too. But you lose some radius from your inside curve. (Raffan recommends a curve close to that of the bowl you're scraping). And don't sharpen too far down the off side.