PDA

View Full Version : Need Help with Dresser Details - please

denidownunder
21st June 2009, 03:05 PM
Hi All,
I am new to this forum and this is my first post.
I would like to ask a question regarding a Dressing Table.
I have a Dressing Table which was in this house when I bought it and now want to sell it (the dresser)
As I have very little knowledge about Furniture,wood, etc I was hoping that someone may be able to help.
What I would love to know is - what Date/Period is this Dressing Table - what type of timber is it made of?
Also I know it needs some attention , but what could I expect to sell it for - I have no idea.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you very much,
Kind Regards,
Ian.

hap97
23rd June 2009, 06:36 PM
This seems to have been a popular basic design. I suggest it may have been prior to 1900.
The items are veneered. The first one I worked upon was painted white, and it took a bit of stripping before I realised it was venered. The final finish was black japan.
The large dressing table had a nice cedar top that was badly damaged, but this came up well with some new french polishing. The rest of the article had a restoring finish applied and then wax.
Did yours ever have castors, look underneath, it seems very flat on the floor.

denidownunder
23rd June 2009, 08:34 PM
Hi hap97,

Thanks for your time in answering my post.

If you have time there a a couple of things that you might be able to answer for me as I have no idea at all about timber.
What would the veneer be made of?
Also what type of timber would the arms holding the mirror and also the leg be made of?

I had a look underneath and there are signs (holes) there that makes it look like there were castors or some type of feet.

I am thinking of selling this piece in an "AS IS" condition. Any rough idea of what I could expect?
If this last question is not allowed then please disregard it.

Many thanks again for your interest.
Looking forward to hearing back from you.