PDA

View Full Version : Homemade table saw

SWR
6th July 2004, 11:57 PM
Hello all,

This is my first posting to this forum having only found it a few days ago.
Let me say as a woodworker of seven or so years that this is just fantastic!

I am a woodworker who believes that buying something is the last resort and as
someone who is handy...well let's just say that i make a fair bit of my tools.

Convincing the G.L.W (good lady wife) to buy me a compound mitre saw after the shing phong ping brand (read cheap taiwanese) was tough. Asking for a 14"
bandsaw for my birthday...tougher again...asking to buy a table saw...well a man's got to know his limitations!!!

So knowing the answer before I asked the question I decided that to replace my old trusty Triton Mk III that I would make a table saw.

So I knew that Carbatec sold these "power heads" with flanges to bolt a blade (or grinding wheel) on one end and two V-Belt drive pulleys on the other end. Great!!! $75 odd dollars.

Now all I need is a grunty motor...say 2.5 Hp and about 2800 rpm. After a month of hunting around I found a 2.75 Hp 2900 rpm motor for $70.00 at a local motor repairer (in Hurstville).

Couple a V-belt, a 100 tooth blade I had kicking around and hey presto, a beast that cuts through ring gidgee (bloody hard wood!) like a hot knife through butter! Motor doesn't even change pitch!

Now all I needed was a method to drop and tilt the blade...easy right? well not so much...

After doing some theoretical modelling in a CAD package I thought that I had an answer. Once again...not so much...

Eventually I got the drop mechanism working by supporting a fram within a fram from hinges and some threaded rod to adjust the drop. From this frame another hinged frame perpendicular to the other hinged frame gives me some tilt ( at least enough to adjust the blade to be perpendicular to the table.

The frame is welded 1" tube and the sub frame with the motor an pulley weighs about 60 kg.