Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    New Zealand
    Age
    47
    Posts
    30

    Default New Sawstop PCS tripping breaker

    So had it a few weeks. Not really used it until today other than checking alignment etc. On the odd startup it will trip the breaker. Did it once this morning. Not at all this afternoon - maybe 12 to 15 starts. Then 3 out of 9 starts early this evening.

    Seems to be working fine when running. Normal NZ Voltage - 230/240V Single Phase. On its own dedicated circuit with a 16A breaker. Prior to chasing down the supplier I'm thinking this is to do with the initial inrush of current at startup.

    All lights are doing what they should. Solid Green light after it's gone through initialization etc.


    I noted when I purchased my Hammer A31 Jointer / Planer they told me to install a D curve breaker for startup but the Sawstop is on a new Hagar 16A C Breaker and is an RCBO - so it provides overcurrent as well as earth leakage. Guessing one of them is happening !

    Any ideas ? Do I need a D curve on this circuit as well ? Will also speak to the sparky who installed it.

    Thanks for the thoughts

    Ged
    Last edited by Gedc; 12th Aug 2018 at 05:19 PM. Reason: Tidied up some info

  2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Age
    2010
    Posts
    Many





     
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    se Melbourne
    Age
    57
    Posts
    1,958

    Default

    Talk to your sparky.
    It might be more a current leakage than over current. It might even be due to moisture in the air and motor/wiring.

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Hunter Valley
    Age
    50
    Posts
    433

    Default

    We've seen this in these forums before.

    From memory, you need a type "D" circuit breaker when this is happening, and again from memory, these usually aren't fitted by default because most sparkies don't know you're about to use this type of kit with a certain peak load at startup that is enough to trip a normal breaker.

    Let me see if I can find the thread...

    EDIT: Found, as I'd bookmarked it when I read it in case mine produced the same issue: SAWSTOP PCS Circuit requirements for installation, what are they?

    EDIT 2: My memory served correctly, it's a D Type circuit breaker you need (post 3 in the linked thread).

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    New Zealand
    Age
    47
    Posts
    30

    Default

    Hi Midnight Man. Thankyou for that. I did search but couldn't find anything like that. I will chat to the sparky and see about changing it for the D curve breaker. Funny enough we did chat about it at the time but given there wasn't anything specific from the supplier ( i checked) and in the documentation we thought the C typo would suffice. Just goes to show. Will get him to check for any other issues re earth leakage but fingers crossed another $100 will sort the issue.

Similar Threads

  1. Table Saw keeps tripping the breaker
    By basil55 in forum TABLE SAWS & COMBINATIONS
    Replies: 50
    Last Post: 2nd May 2018, 11:24 PM
  2. 3HP 1P motor tripping RCD tripping
    By BobL in forum ELECTRONICS
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 20th Jan 2015, 08:33 PM
  3. MJ2325B table saw tripping circuit breaker
    By munruben in forum GENERAL & SMALL MACHINERY
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 3rd Sep 2012, 12:35 AM
  4. My New Table Saw is tripping circut breaker
    By Arry in forum WOODWORK - GENERAL
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 7th Jul 2011, 09:53 PM
  5. Table Saw tripping circuit breaker
    By Sam in forum TABLE SAWS & COMBINATIONS
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 22nd Oct 2010, 07:48 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •