Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Default Mystery Oz PDR prototype

I had a little spare time, so I put together another Puddle Duck from plans and revisions by MIK. This one is a little different and lets see how many differences people can spot. The hull went together in 8 hours, ready for paint. The sailing rig and foils are transferable from my other boat.
    Enjoy!

Rick.

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

Hello,

This has been one quick build!

The differences I note (but I have no personal experience with the PDR nor its plans):

- off set daggerboard case (on the inside of the air chamber leaving the cockpit uncluttered)
    - 2 air chambers on the side rather than one big one in front and 2 smaller ones in the back
    - tape / filet construction for the chines rather than chine logs
    - 2 mast postions rather than 1
    - no curves in the decking
    - simplified structure with less cross pieces (in the MK2 version required to support the daggerboard case)

It is getting busy at the PDR front with multiple options now available:
    - Storer OZ PDR MK2
    - Storer OZ PDR simply version (I don't know what name MIK has assigned to this one)
    - Welsford Kiwi PDR
    - Michalak Catbox

It seems that PDRs will rule the world!

Looking forward to the performance reports!

Best regards,

Joost
    Last edited by Joost; 21st March 2010 at 05:40 AM. Reason: spelling error

How is it weight wise compared to your other one?

Does it feel like it will rack more than the other?

Quote Originally Posted by dkirtley View Post

It weighs 25lbs more than a Mk II, mostly because it uses 4 sheets of ply instead of 3, and the extra sheet I used 1/4" instead of 1/8".

And forgive me for not knowing what the term 'rack' means. If you explain it, I can probably tell you.

Rick.