Page 21 of 38 FirstFirst ... 11161718192021222324252631 ... LastLast
Results 301 to 315 of 562
  1. #301
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Maryvale, Queensland
    Posts
    2,326
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PsychoPig7 View Post
    R, S, & T are the terminal inputs for your AC power. If your spindle will be running from a standard Australian 240v supply, just connect the two wires to R and T, and omit terminal S, which is the third input for a Three-Phase supply.

    'Chinese squiggle' is the earth terminal and is where you should connect the earth wire from your 240v input. You might notice two other 'earth' points on the plastic case inside next to the connectors - as far as I can determine, neither of these are connected to ground and should not be used for earth.
    So, I've just ordered on of these, and will probably get a G540 kit to replace my fried combo controller box that came with my Chinese CNC machine. So now starts my stupid questions.

    I take it these machines don't come with a power cord at all. So how does one get a cord, just any old power lead and chop the plug off the end?
    Pen Affair Craft Supplies - Cheapest Pearl Ex & Pemo Polymer Clay in Australia
    http://craftsupplies.penaffair.com

  2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #302
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Oxley, Brisbane
    Age
    69
    Posts
    2,938
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BoomerangInfo View Post
    I take it these machines don't come with a power cord at all. So how does one get a cord, just any old power lead and chop the plug off the end?

    Correct

    Bob Willson

    PS Don't use a double insulated lead. It must have an earth.

  4. #303
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    melbourne, laverton
    Posts
    1,532
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    thanks again Michael and bob.
    i all ready had printed out the manual of yours Michael.
    i haven't read it all but it does explain things a lot clearer.
    really i haven't had time to delicate to my lathe problem.
    hopefully soon.

  5. #304
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    melbourne, laverton
    Posts
    1,532
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default is this right

    Picture 124.jpgPicture 123.jpg

    is this right for a external switch. to make the spindle turn.

    i was getting 24v dc bettween the for and dcm connections. i thought it should be 12v
    i think its back to the drawing board
    aaron

  6. #305
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Maryvale, Queensland
    Posts
    2,326
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Hey All,

    My VFD has arrived and I have to start wiring up.

    Would some people be able to post pictures of their completed setups showing the cable connections & routings, both with the lid off showing the internal connections, and then lid on so I can see how you've bundled all the cables coming out? I'm just not sure how best to organise the wiring.

    Thanks. Russell.
    Pen Affair Craft Supplies - Cheapest Pearl Ex & Pemo Polymer Clay in Australia
    http://craftsupplies.penaffair.com

  7. #306
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    27
    Post Thanks / Like

  8. #307
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Maryvale, Queensland
    Posts
    2,326
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mkc2 View Post
    Thanks. That helped a little bit, but searching around there and then back here I've found a few more things, including this http://www.woodworkforums.com/f170/v...ml#post1040676 which is partly what i was after as well. Looks like there as an extra hole drilled in the power cable snugly.

    I guess it's just a matter of housing the cables the best you can.
    Pen Affair Craft Supplies - Cheapest Pearl Ex & Pemo Polymer Clay in Australia
    http://craftsupplies.penaffair.com

  9. #308
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Darwin HowardSprings
    Age
    42
    Posts
    1,180
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    tried looking in the little book that came with my VFD , but cant find description of witch way the wind blows on the fan on the top of the VFD , IN or OUT ???, im setting it up in a confined space and have added an extra 12volt snail blower to move some air out

    the advertising sticker on a fan is normally on the out would side of the fan ,

  10. #309
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Oxley, Brisbane
    Age
    69
    Posts
    2,938
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Can't you just turn it on and hold a bit of tissue paper close to the fan?

    Bob Willson

  11. #310
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Darwin HowardSprings
    Age
    42
    Posts
    1,180
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    would mean having to change the wiring out , and connecting up a new lead , until my solid state relays are wired up it wont be turning on ,

    just putting in an extra fan . i can run the fan in reverse if im wrong ,

  12. #311
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    998
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Just look at what side the motor is on and that will tell you the direction of the air flow, air has always blown towards the motor from what I've always seen, you can also look at the blades of the fan to tell which way it will blow.
    My Projects // CNC Machine Parts
    DM-45 Drill/Mill -- H&F BS-7L Bandsaw -- TokenTools 210S Mig -- CNC Mill/Router 1100x550

  13. #312
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Darwin HowardSprings
    Age
    42
    Posts
    1,180
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ch4iS View Post
    , air has always blown towards the motor from what I've always seen,
    yes thats i thought and have set it up that way , the stationary side of the fan ( motor end ) has the brand sticker , and the wind blows toward that , so on the VFD it is blowing out ?

  14. #313
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    melbourne, laverton
    Posts
    1,532
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default more questions

    hi every one. ive been getting some help with my vfd problems. Thanks mike.
    here is a few questions regarding the multi inputs.
    is it ok to have just one of them in the circuit?
    ie dcm to for. via the switch which turns the lathe on?

    when i check the voltage between dcm and multi input 1 "for" it reads 24vdc
    i wounder if the dcm is mis labeled and im checking 2 + 12v's.
    im fairly shore this is a simple problem. i have been working thru this but the id just to much materiel here for me to read.
    aaron

  15. #314
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    melbourne, laverton
    Posts
    1,532
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default here is a pic

    the bottom row of control circuit terminals on my vfd is diffarent from the picture in the manaual.

    Picture 123.jpg

  16. #315
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Melbourne - Mexico
    Posts
    646
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Huanyang Speed Control Manual

    I bought a horizontal mill with a 3 phase motor and decided to use the Huanyang series of VFD's that I have to power the unit.

    After trying to find a configuration on the internet (there isnt any) I decided to write this brief manual as a reference for others.

    In short, it details how to hook up the VFD to control

    1. Direction (FWD & REV)
    2. Speed via a POT

    I hope people find it useful. Please feedback any errors I have in detail. I have checked it and it seems correct, but i'm getting older.....

    /Michael
    Attached Files Attached Files

Similar Threads

  1. Help with Huanyang VFd
    By PsychoPig7 in forum CNC Machines
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 1st Jun 2009, 10:52 AM
  2. Computer users
    By Peter R in forum NOTHING AT ALL TO DO WITH WOODWORK
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 16th Oct 2004, 08:35 PM
  3. Where have the triton users gone?
    By George in forum TRITON / GMC
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 4th Apr 2000, 03:28 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •