Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Default best sail-and-oar camp cruiser for me

I am quite new to the world of boats (other than canoes) so please bear with me. I have decided to take on a boatbuilding project for the next couple of years. I am interested in building a sail-and-oar open boat capable of camp cruising. I have already benefited from a lot of excellent advice on this forum, and I wonder if you would all be kind enough to offer your opinion on what the best boat for someone like me might be.

I am not a small chap: 6’-4” and about 250 pounds. I would like to be able to row and sail single-handed, but more often with a crew of two. It would be good if the boat could accommodate an occasional crew of four (me, my girlfriend, her young son, and a very bouncy Labradoodle) for overnight trips. I intend to daysail on Minnesota lakes, with annual, extended trips on the Lake Superior Water Trail. The boat should be easily trailerable as it will likely make the overland trip to my girlfriend’s beach cabin on Prince Edward Island. I have a bit of woodworking experience, and while I do have considerable patience for learning new skills, I do not want to take on a needlessly complex project. I have access to CAD modeling programs and a large CNC machine, if I choose to use them. Aesthetically, I’m a bit of a minimalist, and you’ll have to forgive me if my comments seem overly concerned with the appearance of the boat: I am an architect (building, not naval) and suffer from a hungry eye. I should also say that not only am I a neophyte builder, I am also relatively new to both sailing and rowing. I am learning both, though, and plan on carrying on so that I will have good confidence on inland lakes by the time I manage to launch this boat.