Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Help with my first bowl

Hi Guys,
    I am turning my first bowl today and i need some advice.
    The Blank (redgum) is now 190mm x 90mm. It started at 190mm x 110mm. I have turned the back of the bowl so it has a 20mm deep part for the chuck so i can turn out the middle of the bowl. What i would like to know is;
    have i done the right thing in the preperation?
    What is the best tool to smooth the outside of the bowl?
    When i start to work the inside of the bowl do i start from the outside in or inside out?
    I really appreciate your help. I am waiting for the 29th of August to attend the woodturners guild to learn.

Roger

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

Hei Roger,
    I am still a relative newbie myself but I shall offer what I have found from the two bowls I have turned.

I have actually found that the bowl gough is quite a good tool for smoothing the outside of the bowl once you have the shape. When you finish with the chisels you will want to sand the bowl and you can get rid of minor marks during sanding. Start sanding with 60 grit and work up to at least 400 depending on the hardness of the wood - I've done two bowls out of Jarrah which is an Aussie hardwood and I found that much finer that 400 grit is pointless but for softer timber you might go up to 1200 grit.