Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Thread: Netsuke carving

Question Netsuke carving

Good afternoon fellow carvers, I am interested in carving some netsuke with an Australian theme, can anyone give me a starting point books, magazine etc.. I can read, maybe from my local library?
    I have been carving for a few years and would like a change.
    I hope someone can help.
    with thanks
    Bob
    Gosford Bob

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

Hi Bob. I have looked for books myself without success, but know that there are a few around. The last time I saw one at the local library it was more than ten years ago, when I had no time at all for carving. For an Australiana theme I would imagine that rather spherical shaped small animals, like koalas, rolled up echidnas and platypuses, wombats etc. would make good netsukes. Good luck.

I saw a segment on Netsuke carving on 'Collectors' on the ABC last night. I've been wondering what to do with all the little block 'off cuts' I've been reluctant to throw out because... "You just never know....".

So last night I started on something simple to get me in the swing of things... a Teddy Bear. I know its not Australiana but it will do for a start... practice purposes. If it works out I might make a few of them in the lead up to Christmas as Chrissie tree decos. At the very least, I've found a use for all those little block off cuts.

Quote Originally Posted by gosfordbob View Post
    I am interested in carving some netsuke with an Australian theme, can anyone give me a starting point
    Bob
    my first starting point for Australian themed netsuke would be the works of Susan Wraight and Silvio Apponyi arguably a couple of the finest netsuke carvers in the world and they're Aussies. (and thoroughly likable folk)

what if the hokey pokey is really what it's all about?

Quote Originally Posted by underfoot View Post