Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default What do I need???

Hey folks, Im new to the forum and new to carving. Ive been framing houses for about ten yrs and I love woodwork. I want to carve a bowl without using a lathe but Im not sure what kind of chisels, gouges and knives I will need to do this. Can anyone steer me in the right direction. Also I have found a set of 6 Narex chisels for $50.00 is this a good deal and are these any good. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

hrrmmm??? Is this unheard of or something, carving a bowl strictly by hand? Surely somebody knows what types and size chisels and gouges this would require.

I have carved a shallow bowl about 100mm diameter into a block as decoration. Match the curve of your gouge with the curve of your bowl. This will make the bowl even all around. When you take a tiny shaving off the inside it will cover the entire cutting face of the gouge. A #3 gouge will cut a radius 3 times the gouge width (true with Pheil Swiss Chisels, not sure about other countries) so a 12mm #3 gouge will cut a 36mm radius bowl. I have only done it once and am a begginer.

Cut with the grain, keep your chisels razor sharp, practice on some basswood (US timber).

hope it helps

Russ

there was a post a while back on here with a link to a clip of a guy an islander i think making bowls by hand but i cant think what the post was under . i remember he was holding the bowl with his bare feet and using some very sharp tools .like an adz or some thing . not much help i know but there are posts in here on the subject.
    'If the enemy is in range, so are you.'

Default Bowl carving

Welcome to the forum,
    About 40 years ago when I was lear woodwork at Heathcote High School one of our projects was carve a fish shaped bowl from piece of Pacific Maple 10" x 20" x 1".