Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Default help staining pine dark brown/black

hello,

i am hoping someone here could help ease my frustration....i am new to staining and am having difficulty achieving a dark black tone in my bare pine wood surface....

I am using Black Japan stain and am hoping to get a deep black but still able to see some grain....the bloke at bunnings albiet non inspiring pointed me in the direction of black japan as it is semi tranparent, however i am not sure the problem maybe in my application.

Firstly i am following the directions when it says sand and prepare etc...then apply evenly, however i have been applying the stain with a foam brush and have tried then wiping excess off after about 5 mins (hav even tried up to 15) which doesnt produce a desirable colour (its way too light), repeating this process by applying more coats doesnt work very well either (still very light for a black).

My question is, am I doing this correctly? or should i only need to apply the one coat and just let it dry completley, not wiping any excess off?

thank goodness these issues are only on test pieces, i loathe finishing

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

Otautahi , Te Wa'hi Pounamu ( The Mainland) , NZ

What is the object that you wish to stain , what grain figure does this pine have , and can you post a few photos of the piece ?

Yes it is.
    It is very difficult to get the dark color by wiping application stain.
    Np matter how many you apply your stain it will give you the same result.
    You may try to to use the darker stain.
    But the easier is if you apply your stain by spray.
    By spray application you can control your stain layer until you get your color.

Good luck

wisno