Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Default Plantation questions

hey guys I am was just curious on the subject of starting your own plantation. I am from the far north Queensland area (Tableands / Daintree) and I am wanting to start my own plantation of say Queensland maple, Silky Oak, Cedar and so on. How do you go about starting this up. Also these trees should be getting planted back into the environment when conservation activities take place to replace them in their existing environment like they were. I personally think it is important to maintain their existence for future generations.

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

Timeless Timber Guest

Default Help

Rossco,I was a forester with this states conservation dept for 8 years and then a private environmental consultant for many more years - establishing a large walnut orchard for one of my clients.

I've had a lot of experience establishing Pine Plantations as well as Tassie Bluegum.

I'm not experienced with your Qld trees however.

I might be able to help you out with advice on the basic principles tho.

What condition is the ground that you wish too establish your plantation on - in now, is it ex pasture ground, or already treed etc

There's many stages too plantation establishment depending on your soil type and past use, tree requirements, weed protection, govt approvals (for firebreaks establishment) and so on and so forth!

What sort of acreage are you talking about?

Also your financial aims are important. (Are you looking at taxation implications for example?)

Let me give an example.

Some of your trees are suited too plantation - but plantations might have far different local govt rules for establishment than say an orchard.