Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Thread: Surf ski

Talking Surf ski

Hi all,

Just about finished my Quick Canoe, really enjoyed building it, and surprisingly for a total novice found it pretty straight forward to build. My question is the 'Surf Ski' you have in your plan list, suited to novice builder like myself, as my ten year old wants something to paddle on his own. Would this be suitable or would you suggest something else.

Cheers

Crawford

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

I started building MIK's Russki a few years and a bit back. Unfortunately I didn't finish it - got interrupted by something else, working in an open car-port in winter wasn't the best, same old same old - I do still have it in the shed to get back to. (If I'd had the shed back then it may not have languished.)

The plans were very good, very clear. I didn't bring a great level of skill to the job but found the project comfortably challenging: working methodically, measure three times, cut once, nothing to be scared of.

I think it's a more complex build than the QuickCanoe so might be a good next project. MIK's site describes it as a good project for a first time builder or teenager, and I'd agree. It probably wouldn't take more than a few weekends. I guarantee you'll have no problem building it faster than me!

One tip that I think's important: get the heaviest, thickest sheet of plywood or chipboard you can find to use as the working platform - the backbone gets assembled by screwing blocks and spacers into it. You want it to be rigid. I tried to get away with 18mm (I think) chipboard and it was a mistake. Starting again I'd cough up the necessary to get 20 or 25mm plywood: it'll always be useful and the cost will be forgotten quickly.

My 5c (with inflation and GST)

Thanks for the 5c Michael.

I will make an addition to the plans to cover the thicker chipboard - good one Michael.