Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default New house wiring

Hi all, Im really annoyed at the moment I dont know with who myself or the elctrician I got to do my new house. Im an owner builder who started in Feb and we moved in in July. I got an electrician to do the house, all passed all legal. I got an air con put in today 2.5hp split system. The sparkie who put it in said we are right on the limit of amps available for the size of the mains(16mm), I think we have about 3amps left. He said that he advises people in my area(semi rural) who are on an acre or more with a fair sized house and no natural gas to run two 16mm mains so they can add things later on. Now that we are at our limit any future electrical items that we want to add we will have to fork out $1200+ to add new mains. This really annoys me. Like I said I don't know if I'm more annoyed at myself for not researching better or the original sparky. Can anyone tell me how I calculate the total amps on the house.

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

G'day.
    We built our place about 4 years ago.

At the time I decided that I wanted 3 phase power for the shed when it got built.
    We had a 3 phase ducted Air-con installed.
    Now the house has the lights running on 1 phase.
    Half the power points running on the 2nd phase and the other 1/2 running on the 3rd phase.
    Future expansion has power to burn.

Our neighbour who built at the same time, installed a 1 phase ducted air-con. He doesn't have enough spare power to even run a beer fridge.

A little homework goes a long way.
    Hooroo.
    Regards, Trevor
    Grafton

Dan,
    Amps x Volts = Watts, or
    Watts/Volts = Amps