Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Default Beginner Whittler

Hi everyone the past year ive started getting into whittling.Im trying to find the right knife to use since i was told the box cutter I was using was too dangerous and to use a pocketknife instead. I was just wondering what kind of pocketknife i should look for?Is there anything else I could use?Any suggestions would be appreciated. Oh and the wood ive been carving is white oak since thats all that is around here in Texas.

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

Quark.

I see you are from Texas USA. I am probably not the o0ne to tell you what knife to use because i am battling my way through the woodcarving maze also.

But, I will say this i have had some experience outside of woodcarving and that has served me well. I made my own two carving knifes from a HSS metal saw and I ground and honed them really sharp.

But my problem was, How sharp is sharp for carving. I know how sharp , sharp is for wood chisels because i have been taught by a master and I now know what sharp really is. But with carving my learning curve suggests to me that carving knives have to go to another level. Because I do not know any carvers I bit the bullet and ordered one from , the good ol US of A.

After a bit of research I ordered it from Allen Goodman a Caricature carver and knife maker. If you send him a knife he will sharpen and alter the blade at $4 per blade and the guys who have one of his can attest that he is a master.

I was going to get a pen knife as well but went with the Detail knife first. I am looking around for a good whittling knife in the States and it will be sent to him to rejig if he feels it to be necessary. There are other guys who do the same and I had to pick one and that was him.