Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Default Newbie- Any help appreciated

Hey guys,

Im totally new to instrument making and it has been my ambition to make a violin.
    I have been researching the craft for a while and have learnt a fair bit.

I was wondering the best place to source wood from was in your experience?

Any advice that you could provide me in my journey would be greatly appreciated

Cheers, Mitch

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

Default Newbie _ any help appreciated

Hi Mitch,
    I supply tonewood for Violins please contact me at the address below.
    Regards, Bob

Quote Originally Posted by MitchB View Post
    Hey guys,

Im totally new to instrument making and it has been my ambition to make a violin.

Cheers, Mitch

Hi Mitch,

If you have been researching for a while you will know the conventions in violin world. There are a few (OK, there are lots) so it depends on what you want to build. If you are planning to sell or enter any makers competitions you will need to use Carpathian Spruce and Bosnian Maple like the Cremonese makers did. American Spruces (particularly Engleman) and Big Leaf Maple are finding favour FWIW.

If you are interested more in folky type instruments then there are lots of possibilities. But a lot of the published technical plate tuning data will be of limited use. You will be on your own. I have seen instruments made of Huon Pine and QLD Maple with Spruce tops. The Australian Instrument Makers Association has local expertise.

Bob is our local vendor, he sells very nice timber. If you want to go overseas Simeon Chambers is great to deal with. There are no directly equivalent local timbers for Spruce BTW.
    "We must never become callous. When we experience the conflicts ever more deeply we are living in truth. The quiet conscience is an invention of the devil." - Albert Schweizer

My blog. http://theupanddownblog.blogspot.com