Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Default Woodturning newbie

Hi,

I'm just getting into woodworking in general, and have been thinking of doing some woodturning too. This lathe has appeared on the marketplace, https://www.woodworkforums.com/f221/l...ractor-140921/, a Beaver 6-speed with what looks like enough accessories to be a complete kit. Does it look like a sensible buy?

Also, if I buy it, any advice or good tutorials for a newbie? I'll go through the tutorial thread but its big, not sure where to start.

Regards,
    Ian

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

Hey Ian,

As someone who has just gone through the process of buying my first lathe, having done much research, that looks like a good buy, everything that you need to get started. If I could have found a package like that in Melbourne, I would have been all over it.

Regarding tutorials/ where to start, there is a whole heap of stuff on youtube, or I'm sure someone will chime in with helpful books, and of course woodturning clubs that are local to you.

Tim

That looks good. All reports I've seen on the Beavers have been positive.
    Advice would be: (1) to join a club or get some lessons - that will really speed up your development, (2) learn to sharpen your tools properly ( buy a jig) I know these two things from hard experience.
    Three wise middle aged monkeys - "see no pot-belly, feel no bald spot, buy no sports car"

Hi Ian,