Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Do table saws really last a life time?

Hello All,

Thank you in advance to all those able to provide me with some guidance or more importantly some ease of mind prior to lashing out on a new table saw. My situation is I am 27 years old and I love woodworking as hobby when I can get away from work. I am by no means a professional however that said I care a lot about good quality machinery and I always try to get a professional finish to my projects.

I have read the forums regarding the capabilities of different table saws to death so my question is not about comparing different brands etc. The table saw I am going to buy is the JET JPS10-TS which seems to do what I need within my price range. My question relates to the many forums on here that mention that a good table saw that is maintained correctly will last a life time or at best a really long time.

Question 1: Is this really long time actually true or do many of the wood workers here actually upgrade their equipment quite regularly. I don't think this is possible for me as the wife may start to want to buy expensive things as well.

Question 2: I am not very aware of the technology advances that have occurred over time with table saws. Are the saws in the market today quickly out dated like computers for instance and if so should I wait till I am retirement age to lash out, or will the saw I buy today be competitive in say 5, 10 even 20 years time. (sorry for the hypothetical)

Any help on this topic is greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Matt.

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

Nothing lasts forever.... but if looked after, and if you purchase reasonable quality up front, there is no reason why the saw you buy today won't be competitive in 20 years....