Thanks Thanks:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Post My first guitar build - WIP

G'day all.
    I've been threatening myself for a few years that I'd build a guitar so I decided to do it.
    The plan (out of my head, ie no drawings or templates).
    To build a solid body electric with twin humbuckers, tunomatic bridge and tail. Double cut-away copying no particular style. Rock Maple ready made Gibson LP style neck - 24 5/8 tone length. 22 frets (Jumbo) 12" radius. Head stock design out of my head with a snake wood inlay.

I handcut the groove for the snake wood using Pfeil 15/16 and 9/7 carving chisels as the snakewood infill is tapered 12mm down to 9mm. The neck came with a paddle head so I could design my own shape.

For the body I used a crosscut lump of Huon Pine stump that's been daring me to make something of it for a few years. Ripped it down to 30mm on the Resaw king blade. I then ripped an American Birdseye Rock Maple board I had in stock to 2 book matched 15mm veneers to use as the top.

As can be seen, the back of the Huon Pine body has hollows and bark showing. I'm going fill all these with clear casting resin so they can remain a visible feature. The top cutaway point is snake wood and the bottom curve of the front is Tiger Myrtle. I rough cut the neck socket with a Forstner bit and squared it up with chisel and sandpaper.

Because this is my first, build I've gone cheap with the hardware. The WSC humbuckers only cost $50 each. I bought Gotoh machine heads the keys of which I'll replace with my handmade Snakewood keys.

(The masking tape is for marking out so I don't have to draw on the face)
    Any that's progress to date. More as I go along.
    cheers
    sheddie (apprentice Luthier )
    Attached Images Attached Images

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

Default WIP MY FIRST GUITAR BUILD

Quote Originally Posted by Shedhand View Post
    G'day all.