Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Default *Help needed with drum build, from someone with woodworking knowledge*

Hey folks! I'm an independant drum builder, and have a question for someone that is a tad more "tool-savvy" than I am. I'm wanting to cut down on all my manual sanding time, and make my life a bit easier. I have seen some folks set up wood lathe machines to mount drums on, and spin them for quick and easy sanding, staining, and so on. Nobody ever explains how to actually mount the shell onto the lathe, and give any info on whether or not a special jig needs to be made. Also, I believe to spin a 22" or larger drum, I believe only certain lathes will accommodate for this. If anyone can help me out with some info, I'd be ETERNALLY grateful! Cheers!

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

Hmm. Yes. A special jig might need to be made. And a bowl lathe for such big diameters. Can you narrow down your location? I am in Melbourne.
    anne-maria.
    T
    ea Lady

(White with none)
    Follow my little workshop/gallery on facebook. things of clay and wood.

A conical head and tail stock would possibly work, but you'll need a lathe with a big swing. I'm not familiar with bowl lathes but one of them might work.
    You'd be sanding across the grain though, rather than with it.

Quote Originally Posted by ozcan View Post
    If anyone can help me out with some info, I'd be ETERNALLY grateful! Cheers!

A while back one of our members turned a Djembe and posted a WIP on how he did it. This is the link to his WIP and may be of interest to you as to how it was help on a lathe.

As you can see it is not too easy and not a job for a beginner, alsothe initial setup costs just to make sanding easy doesn't make sense.

Peter.