Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Default Using a dry log cut

I'm an amateur woodworker and am attempting to make a table (like the table shown) out of a log cut that is about 3 inches thick. I took it to my grandpa who has been woodworking for many years and he said that it doesn't have enough moisture to use. If I were to use it, it would crack more than it has. Can anyone tell me how (if at all possible) I can add moisture to it? Oil maybe? Or if I would even need to moisten it. Or if it's beyond saving. Also, how I would seal it for outside use. Lacquer? Thanks.
    IMG_1170.jpg IMG_1323.jpg

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

What will it be? A table or a stool? Wood cracks = that is a fact of life. That piece has one crack. Suppose it had 5?
    By taping up the bottom and side, you might fill the void with epoxy mixed with brass key-cutter filings from the local hardware store.
    Might as well turn a flaw into a feature, yes?

Outdoors, the weather is far more aggressive than any finish invented.
    Sikkens Cetol is the very best of the lot but expensive and not available
    in small quantities (total log house size = yes).
    Why the Hello bother? Let it weather, it will outlast you and gain
    some of the character that I lack in the process.

I live at 53N in the mountains. I've got 10 western red cedar carvings outdoors in the WX.
    I like to watch them weather, nothing is anywhere near turning into rot and dust yet.
    Black house paint or a couple of coats of Varathane satin. Good enough for me.

Can you get a clamp/s on it to close the gap? If so then get a glue into the gap, clamp it up and then drill two holes diagonally in opposite directions in the side, one either side of the joint and one above the other then glue and insert two dowels and let set for a week. Could work or creat a new split else where.