Thanks Thanks:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Default Fish outta water...with a blackwood mantle :)

Well,I spose the title says it all...I'm a complete woodworking newbie,but,as coming from the automotive industry,im not a complete dill,and can work with my hands .
    I had a crack at sanding and coating our floorboards,and it came out ok,so,I done stuff in the usual man way...I became a master woodworker in my own mind,and jumped in head first...to an interesting old tasmanian blackwood mantle.Well,at $80,I couldnt say no

I have no idea about its age,apart from it being heavy and old..but I do remember seeing something similar as a kid in my aunts late 1800s house.I plan to make it work in my home,and incorporate it into my existing tas oak mantle with some outside the box thinking..

Now,obviously,its been painted...but,luckily,its been painted poorly...theres 1 main coat,plus a light undercoat over the top.The finish underneath hasnt been sanded,and looks in good condition.I picked some paint off with my fingernail,it comes off sorta easy,tried the heat gun,it comes off,but its leaving paint residue and im hoping to get the paint off without damaging the original finish.

So,a coupla questions...
    1.Does anyone have any idea on the approx age of a piece like this?
    2.Its a darker than natural stain..would the original finish be shellac or varnish..as i said,im a newbie
    3.Is there any easy way to strip the paint without damaging the old finish?.

Thanks in advance

20141104_210328[1].jpg 20141104_210344[1].jpg 20141104_210421[1].jpg 20141104_214905[1].jpg

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

With something that old, my first step would be to check for lead based paint. I would not apply the heat gun or even sanding until the lead test is done.
    Once you are sure it is lead free, then you could try paint strippers.
    Assuming you want to go back to bare wood and finish again.