Thread: Braces & Bits

Question Braces & Bits

I am new to the world of Braces & Bits. I was given a couple by my father-in-law, that were used by his grandfather to construct their house. I have been restoring one, the other of which is going to be put in the scrap heap, sadly.

I have a few dumb questions about braces though.

Firstly, how is the handle installed? I can't spot glue marks or splits on any that I have seen indicating that the handle is placed on after the U shape is put in the metal shaft. Is the metal shaft bent after the handle has been put in place?

Thanks,

Craig

If nobody minds, as I start to learn more, I will start posting links to resources for finding out more.

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

Quote Originally Posted by Morbius View Post
    ...how is the handle installed? I can't spot glue marks or splits on any that I have seen indicating that the handle is placed on after the U shape is put in the metal shaft. Is the metal shaft bent after the handle has been put in place.
    Yes. Some more modern braces have a plastic handle added after shaping, but back in the olde days the handle was slid on before the final bends were added.

Cheers, Vann.
    Gatherer of rusty planes tools...
    Proud member of the Wadkin Blockhead Club .

One of the dark secrets only the brace handle elves would know.
    Regards
    John

interesting
    for some reason the men's shed ends up with a lot of braces and bits
    I was thinking of grabbing one or two and doing them up
    regards
    Nick
    veni, vidi,
    tornavi
    Without wood it's just ...

Boringgeoff is offline Try not to be late, but never be early.

Hi Morbius,