Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Default New Hercus owner

Hi All, looks like I have found that corner of the internet where all the Hercus owners are gathered

After much searching and debating on what to buy for my first metalwork lathe I came across a deal too good to pass up so I jumped on it and got a very nice old Hercus model A. It came from a poor old fellow who had come to that point in his life of downsizing his belongings and accomodation, so he was having a massive clear out.
    Condition wise its a bit dirty and I have been doing a lot of cleaning, but in terms of wear it shows very little, the old man used it maybe 5 times in 25 years, and his mate the previous owner was apparently a hobby machinist who was 'very particular' about it, and hence the truckload of various bits it came with. Literally my cars boot and back seat piled high! Im an absolute novice but myself and all who have looked over it agree its had a very easy life. It runs and sounds very smooth and the ways and carriages are very tight.

But thats about where my knowledge stops really, I have only basic experience with metal turning and I will be learning properly from now on. Most of the stuff it came with I have no idea of its purpose so it will be fun find to find out.

The metal plate says Model A and serial no 7044. Here is a photo of it after I got it home and did my first quick test with a piece of bar stock.

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

Default Nice

Hi

That looks to be a very nice Hercus, the bed looks 'as new ' Is that a taper attachment I see ?

It has never had teenage boys at the tech. doing their best to destroy it .

I would suggest you make or buy a decent stand for it , the heavier the better .

The forum members will steer you in the right direction

Welcome to the forum ratters. Great pick up with the Hercus and an even better one with the accessories.
    You will, I'm sure, get all you need to know here as the guys are very helpful in anything Hercus.