Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Help with a new (really old) lathe

Hi all I just borrowed a mates lathe who inherited it from his dad. I'm trying to turn up some reel seats for fly rod making (similar to pen blanks). I've never used a lathe before but have had a play with this one for a few hours.

It doesn't look like I can put a chuck on this lathe to hold a mandrel though. It appears that the pulleys are mounted onto the shaft for the spur.

I'm thinking about epoxying a 3/8" threaded rod into a block of wood for a mandrel so the spur can turn the blank. I'll get a 60 deg recess into the end of the rod for the tail stock. Would that work?

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

You should be able to unscrew that drive centre off the shaft. It will probably be fairly hard to undo if its been there a while. Have someone hold the drive pulleys to prevent them turning and put a spanner on the drive centre. Give it a couple of hits with a hammer and it will hopefully release it.
    From what I recall the thread is a bit of an odd one and I can't recall if they make an insert for a chuck that will fit it.
    They are not the sort of lathe you would be wanting to spend a lot of money on to make it functional for what you want to do. If you are only doing light work it will probably be okay.

I think the best and easiest fix is to replace the spindle with one that has an appropriate thread on it. I would go for a M30x 3.5 which is becoming the standard in Aus. I know it would take a little bit of work but in the long run it will be the best option. Perhaps this fix would be more expensive that buying a mimi lathe; something else to consider.

Most of these lathes came out with 3/4 x 16 or 3/4 x 10 threads.

A vicmarc chuck can be adapted to fit on these lathes

Depends how serious you are about what you want to do with the lathe.
    Jim Carroll
    One Good Turn Deserves Another. CWS, Vicmarc, Robert Sorby, Woodcut, Tormek, Woodfast