Thanks Thanks:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Saw Handle with Borer

I wanted to rip a macrocarpa sleeper last week. I don't have a bandsaw, nor a table saw, and I like to try to do things by hand anyway. So I dug out my old rip saw (unknown brand, 5ppi). The sleeper is 8ft long and 3" thick and I was making hard work of it - the saw hasn't been sharpened since... well probably since I was an apprentice 40 years ago (it hasn't seen much use mind). So I looked around to see what I have amoung my recently acquired saws awaiting commissioning.

I picked out a nice thumbhole Disston (4 1/2ppi) and tried that for a change. When I say nice, it has a straight blade, not too much surface rust, all screws present and correct - but it has a lot of borer holes. They don't matter do they? I figured I'd fill them with putty/wax/whatever and I'd have a nice saw.

Thumb1.jpg
    Well it does matter . The little blighters have eaten the guts out of the wood, and after a few minutes of cutting, the horn just broke away in my hand

Thumb2.jpg Thumb3.jpg

Anyone for a group tear session?

Cheers, Vann.
    Gatherer of rusty planes tools...
    Proud member of the Wadkin Blockhead Club .

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

Thats a pity as it is a nice saw. The blade is in good condition and will clean up nicely with minimal attention. Looks like you need a new handle. I made a new handle for a rip (not thumb hole however) by taking a photo copy and using that as a template to cut out the new handle. So after you wipe away the tears get working on a new handle.
    Regards
    John

Bummer! Don't you just hate those little wood-guzzling swine? I've seen old Beech riddled with borer, but didn't know they tackled other woods with the same gusto. Think I better put some pest strips in my toolbox!