Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Default Solid beech baby cot stain - all-in-one stain & varnish?

Hi all,

I've purchased the Ikea SNIGLAR unfinished solid beech wood baby cot and change table, and I would like to apply a stain to match other wood furniture that we are setting up in the nursery for our yet-to-arrive baby.

I am a total newbie and I'm much better fixing a computer than doing any woodworking, so I really don't know the best approach. To make it easier, I was looking at applying the British Paints Satin Walnut Stain & Varnish (oil based?). I'm not sure whether this will be a good choice for a baby cot - both from an aesthetic point of view and whether this is safe for a baby cot.

I'm also unsure the best way to apply, should I use a rag and wipe off or a foam applicator? How many coats and so on?

Sorry if these are really obvious questions, any help would be fantastic.

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

I have used that particular product last year for window trim and my memory of it was that it was particularly thick and gluggy. Spreading it so there is a consistent thickness on anything but flat surfaces will be difficult. Where it pools or lies too thick, the stain will be darker. May not matter - for my old window frames it didnt - but I cant see you getting a high class job out of it. My first choice would be to use a separate stain - get that right first in the sense of nice even coverage - then a straight varnish. Probably 2 coats, light sand between as beech grain will stand up after the first coat. Its a very light sand - make sure you dont penetrate the first coat and rub away some of the stain.

I dont think that product is suitable for either rag or foam applicator. OK with a brush, thinned a bit. A bit of Penetrol will help it flow out evenly.

Your question about whether it is kid-safe should be directed to the maker, not to the public.

Cheers