Thanks Thanks:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Post Good places for timber in Sydney

Hi guys,

I'm just starting out with woodworking, and have been getting most of my timber from (don't laugh!) my local Bunnings. I've been making fairly simple stuff, starting out with pine, and then gradually moving on to Tassie Oak. However, the selection at Bunnings isn't exactly the best (all the best stuff disappears pretty quickly, leaving a whole lot of warped or damaged boards that no one wants to buy), so I'm now hunting for a good timber yard in the Carlingford area.

After lurking for quite a while, I've noticed places like Trend get mentioned quite often, but I don't really want exotic timbers--just the everyday stuff, and at a good price. I've also lurked on rec.woodworking for ages, but almost everything there is US-oriented, which doesn't help much.

One other thing ... I'm thinking of making a display cabinet. I'm tossing up between veneered MDF/particleboard and plywood, but don't really know the pros and cons well enough to make an informed decision. If I were to choose ply, I'd need to get marine grade, AFAICS, to get AA faces that would look good with the clear finish I intend to use. However, it's noticeably more expensive, so I don't want to use it unless the result will be commensurately better. Any suggestions would be most appreciated!

Thanks in advance.

Michael.

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

Michael,

Bought a book titled “Building Fine Furniture” by G. William Scherer, Sterling Publishing Co., Inc. New York ISBN 0-8069-8712-X. He deals with plywood construction using quality timber and ‘case work construction’. Similar furniture was produced here back in the fifties or earlier, before the advent of particleboard and the ensuing ‘sidewalk furniture’ you see awaiting collection by local councils.