Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Ripping boards with hand saw

Hi,

First of all, I'm a uni student, so have a very limited budget.

I'd very much like a table saw. Or a bandsaw. I can't decide. In the interim, I need a way of ripping boards, anything up to 50mm thick.

I did think of a circular saw, but the fences on most C.saws I saw had a minimum of 150mm or so, which isn't that great for me because I'll be cutting most of my timber to no more than 50mm wide.

Is there a hand saw specifically for ripping?

Cheers,

Dave
    Articles for beginning bowyers, Australian bowyers, and beginning Australian bowyers:

http://www.tharwavalleyforge.com/ind...shop/tutorials

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

Dave,

Yes there is, and without being smart, it's called a Rip Saw. I'd have to look up the tpi, but they're bigger and have no, or little set.

You should be able to pick up an old one quite cheaply, and the cost of having it properly set will be more than the cost of a new saw, but worth it.

Alternatively, you could find a local joinery and ask them to rip the timber for you.

Cheers,

P

yeoman

Yo! (Couldn't resist that one )

There's no reason why a circular saw with a fence set at 150 mm can't be used to rip boards to 50 mm. Simply measure your 50 mm on the outboard side of the blade.

Set up a cutting guide by taking a piece of somehting relatively thin, say 6 mm thick ply or MDF. Screw to its upper surface a piece of timber say 19 mm thick, running the full length of the sheet. This will act as a guide to register the circular saw against. Run the saw along the guide, ripping off the outboard edge of the sheet.

You now have a saw guide accurately set up so that the blade of the circular saw will cut along its edge when the saw's baseplate is registered against the 19 mm timber.