Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Using the Bevel Ripping Guide

Hi all,

I seem to have a problem using the bevel ripping guide. It seems that I keep stuffing up the corners of the work piece as it "falls" into the blade of the saw.

Anyone got any advice, tips, tricks, or plans for a jig that I can use to help me? I am very new to wood work, and am trying to learn all the tricks to get a good result.

I have tried to make a jig that slides in the channel on the face of the bevel ripping guide, with a square cross piece on the end to allow me to hold the workpiece against it, but it often stops moving when the square comes to the edge of the guide due to a few millimetre twist due to the pressure I apply trying to hold to panel square.

It seems cutting bevels is the hardest thing for me to do properly, perhaps I should just get a 45 degree chamfer bit for the router instead, and forget about the bevel ripping guide?

Cheers,

Josh

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

I haven't used my Bevel ripping guide much, so I would like to hear other people's experiences with it.

I was putting a bevel on the end of a long narrow piece, so I made up a jig that would run along the top of the bevel ripping guide- then I discovered that this top edge has a little ridge, so my jig didn't sit nice and flat. I had to play around and put a spacer in. It worked ok, but the joints weren't brilliant.

Default I Found That Setting Up Is Very Important