Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Default Building Regulations 2006 - Tie-down & Support of beams?

Hi guys,
    Long time reader, first time poster. The information on here is first class and finally I have my own question for you to peruse.
    <O
    Anyway, the reason for my thread is this. I’ve been a registered Building Inspector
    for almost 25 years now have never been able to establish concentrated loading requirements for single sideways jack trusses supporting king posts or rafter creepers.
    <O

Evidently, the tie-down requirements are skewed nails with double noggin heads and minimum 25mm penetration for soft wood and 15mm for hard woods, however, what is required to support the concentrated load? Should I enforce a triple studs supported via a reinforced strip footing with stumps or use a brick pier supported by a pad footings?
    <O

Commonly, I required a laminated stud fixed the concrete edge beam. This has never failed in 20+ years, however what is the official regulation/mandatory fixing and support?
    <O
    Should I get a Form 15 for this?
    <O
    Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by ozwinner; 28th September 2006 at 07:15 PM. Reason: freakin office tags

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

If I understand the question correctly then I'd use 'studs supporting concentrated loads' to be able to input the area of roof supported & yes direct the load onto the footings.
    Out of curiosity - where did you get those nailing details from ?
    Peter Clarkson

www.ausdesign.com.au

This information is intended to provide general information only.
    It does not purport to be a comprehensive advice.