Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Sliding compund mitre or circular saw with a jig?

Hi folks. Very much a newbie here with what might be a dumb question.

My lovely daughter gave me a Bunnings voucher for Dad's day and along with a bit of cash I had tucked aside I thought I could fulfil my dream and get a SCMS. My budget would be between $200-300. Then I started reading these forums and hearing all the tales of woe about GMC/Ryobi/Ozito which are pretty much what I would be looking at.

I won't be a heavy user so I'm so concerned about durability, but it's the innacuracy that worries me.

Now I've started wondering about just buying a circular saw and making a jig/guide to do the job. I figure I could make a 90 degree one and a 45 degree. Anything more complicated and my Dad's tools are only 15 minutes away.

Does this sound like a reasonable way to go? Can I get good, accurate square cuts this way?

If I went this way I'd then have to decide between getting a better quality saw, or I could get a cheap saw and also a cheap router, which I wouldn't mind having.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Jonathan

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

Well if you haven't got one, then a circular saw is much more versatile. A good one should last you a lifetime if you're not giving it a pounding every day.
    Just buy a decent protractor and you can cut just about as accurately as any CMS with a bit of practice.

This forum is populated by tool snobs who think you can't get a good tool unless you give upo an arm and a leg.
    the gmc scms gives reasonable service.
    if you don't need a scms much go the jig route but the gmc scms is nice and convenient.
    Regards, Bob Thomas

www.wombatsawmill.com