Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Design, craft, art & hobbies

Here’s something to think about. It concerns the difference between design, craft, hobbies and art. It made a lot more sense out of what I do for a living after I had learned the differences. The inspiration to write this came from a curious brief for a high school’s design & technology major work to be found in another thread.

Design: is the act of creating the specifications (in terms of form and function) of an artefact for use by another person from a brief (or need) supplied by that person or a third party. The artefact would be considered manufactured or fabricated even if it’s just one item. The person who designs it does not make it nor do they write the brief. Their main purpose is the design phase only. There are loose ends around this, naturally, such as the designer could also use the object but it wasn’t the main drive to create it. For example; a car.

Craft: is the act of creating an artefact from raw materials for personal use (or as a gift) using manual skills. A person who does this is a craftsperson; a craftsperson who gets paid to do it is a tradesperson. It’s not a hobby. A hobby doesn’t necessarily include manual skills or the creation of an artefact from raw materials, e.g. Stamp collecting is a hobby but basket weaving is a craft. A craftsperson might identify a need, he/she might work out what it should look like and how it should work, and they will make it and probably use it of give it away but that does not make them a designer as their main efforts and drive is not from the design perspective but from the satisfaction of making it themselves. They might well use design disciplines in the design phase but its minor in comparison to the end result and why they did it.