Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post Teaching help needed.

Hi, I am a beginner Manual Arts (Industrial Technology & Design) teacher who has nevertaught or had to make anything out of wood before. I am studying to upgrade my skills as I trained as a Primary school teacher years ago and am having a crack at a new field in my profession. I am wanting to get a set of plans so that I can create a coffee table on my own before I have to try and teach it. I was wondering if any other teachers or keen woodworkers could help me out. I have drawn a basic diagram and wish to use mortise and tenon joints on the legs and rails. I will be using pine to begin with and will teach the students eventually how to use a mortise drill after they have completed one by hand.
    What is the correct procedure I should follow when constructing a coffee table is basically what I am after?
    Hoping someone can help.

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

I applaud you for taking this on but without extensive knowledge have no business teaching this subject.
    It is not something you can pick up in a jiffy on a forum on the net.
    No disrespect to you but the state of education in this country is clearly far worse than even I suspected and the education department seems to be adding to the problem.
    As far as I an concerned a teacher "having a crack" at some area of education that they are not well trained in is like a General Practitioner deciding to have a crack at Brain Surgery!

Putting band aids like this over the wounds in education is no solution at all in fact it is preferable for it to fail and then someone might do something meaningful to fix it once and for all.

Ross
    Ross