Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Needs Pictures Needs Pictures:  0
Picture(s) thanks Picture(s) thanks:  0

Default Am I doing this right - hollowing tool

I was recently given a little packet containing two hollowing tips (??) for woodturning. Being new to woodturning and having no experience with hollowing, I did a bit of web research and it seems the right thing to do with these tips is to mount them as you can see in the photo. Here I have mounted one on the end of a bit of mild steel bar. There is a bulky handle on the other end. Assuming this is what a 'hollowing tool' is, I tried using it. Cutting ability seems to be mediocre. This raises some questions (remember I'm a newbie, so have no real idea)

1. Is this how these things are meant to be used?
    2. Is this, in principal, a 'hollowing tool'?
    3. If this really does make it as a hollowing tool, how is this sort of tool used. It cut OK, but not great. Also, it had a strong tendancy to catch badly and throw to the opposite side of the bowl - it seemed to do this whenever the outside edge of the tip touched wood, rather then the leading edge. At other times it didnt seem to cut at all - its very hard working out the ground rules for using this tool and any advice on the right way to use it would be appreciated.

regards
    Arron

2. # ADS
    Google Adsense Advertisement

Default and another question

I was recently doing some spindle work and felt the need for a very wide scraper. I made the tool shown in the picture below, using a Mujingfang plane blade and chip breaker. It has a handle about 20 inches long as I wanted lots of stability and leverage. As far as I can see, it works very well, but as I am a newcomer to turning I think its appropriate to ask if there is some reason why I shouldnt be using this - perhaps a safety angle which I have overlooked. I'd like to know what others may forsee before I find out the hard way.

thanks again
    Arron

Default cup hollowing tool

Arron,